Three Muses

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. ~J. R. R. Tolkien

Hear, hear.

That’s the motto of the newest spot on Frenchmen Street, Three Muses. It’s a restaurant, a Jazz club and a cocktail bar. They are still working out the kinks, as they just opened a week ago, but as far as I can tell, the deal is: they are open every day but today (Tuesday). Their hours are 4pm-midnight. The kitchen is open all those hours. There is music every night. There is no smoking. And Sundays are kid friendly (an excellent idea in light of the downtown baby boom.)

The menu is so right up my alley. It’s an eclectic mix of mostly small plates, all reasonably priced, and delicious. The night I was there my date and I shared lamb sliders w/tomato chutney and herbed goat cheese ($6), rabbit empanadas with sundried tomato aioli ($6), mussels and frites (which I don’t see on their online menu), and piquillo pepper with fresh lima bean, feta cheese and green onion puree ($5). I look forward to trying everything else.

1 Comment

Filed under bars, dining, music

One response to “Three Muses

  1. Colby

    I didn’t dawn on me that it was smoke-free, even though it is a restaurant…..bonus

Leave a Reply

