Verti Marte Employee Benefit

On one of the darker days (literally) of my early years in New Orleans, I found myself waking up on Thanksgiving after the sun had begun setting (I worked nights, okay!) with no plans and no food, and who was there for me? Verti Marte.

My then boyfriend (now husband) and I walked the couple of blocks over to Verti Marte, and the colorful kitchen staff piled heaps of turkey and mashed potatoes and candied yams and greens into styrofoam containers and we had a Thanksgiving dinner. I just wanted to thank you for that Verti Marte.

Also back in those days, when I lived in the Quarter and spent far too much of my time on lower Decatur Street, there was nothing like capping a long night out with an “All That Jazz” sandwich from ye old Verti Marte. As I recall it was a poboy with grilled shrimp, ham, cheese and mushrooms with some sort of creamy sauce, dressed, of course. Ah, those were the days.

Well, the Verti Marte has fallen on hard times folks. It burned down in the wee hours of the morning on Saturday, May 29th. The owners have promised that they will be back. In the meantime, some community-minded folks have gotten together to put on a benefit for the employees. Starting at 4pm today and going until the wee hours, Dragon’s Den is hosting the benefit.

There will be an art auction, a raffle, and door prizes, as well as live music. Scheduled to perform are: Ingrid Lucia, Coco Robichaux, Reveners, Strange Roux, Arnold Radel, Domenic, Sweet Jones, Michael Wilder, House of Cards, John Bagnato, Darren Ehrlicher, My Graveyard Jaw, DJ Proppa Bear, DJ Sexy Bitch, DJ Caleb Laww, DJ Valec, DJ Tom Harvey, DJ Mr. Cool Bad Guy, Foxy Flambeaux of Bustout Burlesque, Ben the Juggling Unicyclist.

And…All That Jazz sandwiches!!

Seriously, one of the things I love about our community is how we pull together and help each other out during hard times, and manage to have a fabulous time in the process. So, get out there today if you can, and if you can’t, you can donate a little something here.

Leave a comment

Filed under bars, benefit, fast food, new orleans cuisine, poboys

Leave a Reply

