Birthday Date Night

Alright, people. I know you’re supposed to go to Jazz Fest today, and then after go see, like, more music at one of the many clubs around town, but…it’s my birthday. And, I am a firm believer that you should do what you really want to do on your birthday, not what you’re supposed to do. Sometimes that means laying around and watching VH1 marathons and eating Ben & Jerry’s, sometimes that means throwing massive parties. Today, I am feeling somewhere in the middle…Speaking of feelings, when I was watching the last Treme, the Susan Spicer-inspired character demands to be taken to Feelings, the restaurant, which made me realize that it has been far too long since I’ve been there. In fact, I haven’t been there since before the storm. And since the city will be overrun with people tonight, and with this recent exposure, Feelings may soon not be so under-the-radar, and since it is walking distance from my house, I realized that’s where I want to have dinner. I haven’t heard much about the quality of the food lately (I’ll get back to you), but their courtyard is one of the most romantic places in town.

But what to have? In perusing the menu, I am tempted to create a tasting menu. They have a bunch of intriguing special appetizers, for instance:

Mushroom Boudin (Seasoned Shitake and Button mushrooms, sauteed in coconut oil with roasted garlic jasmine rice, rolled in a corn husk and then steamed to perfection) 5.75. A Vegetable Terrine (Thin carrot strips encased layers of zucchini, roasted red peppers, roasted tomatoes, eggplant, poached leeks with chive and roasted garlic puree, served on a bed of lettuce topped with a smoked tomato sauce.) 5.25 Mirliton and Corn Roasted Salad (Slivers of Mirliton marinated in rice vinegar topped with kernels of roasted fresh corn, topped with a smooth basil pesto and chopped red bell peppers.) 5.50. Beet Salad: Chilled roasted beets, served on lettuce, toped with a pecan vinaigrette, blended with pomogranate molasses, Meyer lemon and Louisiana raw cane sugar. 5.50–I just love anything in a terrine. And, I adore beets. And, I just have to know what mushroom boudin is. I just realized all these special apps are vegetarian. Huh. Then moving on to the regular appetizer menu, maybe a seafood course of Oysters en Brochette (7), Crab Cakes (7.50), Salmon Mousse (5.75) and Barbecued Shrimp (7.75). All with a bottle of Cava, Spanish Sparkling Wine. (27).

Then what? You know, I have had such a fun week, filled with people, but I’m a little tired. I think I want to go see Date Night, with Steve Carrell and Tina Fey. Because this is my date night, dammit, and Tina Fey is one of the things (well, people, actually) who makes me happiest. It’s playing at the AMC Westbank. Showtimes this weekend are: 11:20am  1:50  4:25  6:55  9:10  11:30pm.

Then, after that, I will probably get a wild hair and end up seeing at you at one of these crazy 2 am shows.


Leave a comment

Filed under bywater, dining, movies, wine

Leave a Reply

