David Sedaris

Tonight at 8, America’s preeminent humorist, David Sedaris will be at the Mahalia Jackson Theater for an evening of “engaging recollections and readings followed by a book signing.” He doesn’t smoke anymore, but I love this picture.

Seriously, I could listen to David Sedaris’ “engaging recollections” forever. I am having a delusional fantasy of  so dazzling him with my own wit over him signing my book, that he invites my husband and I to stay with him and his boyfriend Hugh, in France, and we all become best friends and eat brie and baguettes and just quip incisively back and forth for, like, ever…But, probably not. Most likely I’ll leave before the book signing, because  those things are awk-ward.

Tickets are still available, in the $50-$75 range with all the fees and such.

I think the best way to experience Sedaris’ work is to listen to him read it–which is why it is so exciting to be seeing him live! So, here is a link to him reading his stories on This American Life. Also, you can buy audible versions of his books. And, ’cause I just can’t get enough, here he is doing his thing on David Letterman some years back:

1 Comment

Filed under comedy, literary events

One response to “David Sedaris

  1. Nikki and I have been listening to a CD of Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim while driving to Florida (where we are for a couple weeks) and, while I like it, for the most part, I don’t believe that it is memoir, at least to the extent that memoir is supposed to be non-fiction. Every couple minutes while listening, I say to myself, “I don’t believe that he remembers that thirty year old detail or extended conversation.” Not that this is all that important but I get the feeling that he is not just filling in the details that he doesn’t remember perfectly (which is fine, in memoir, so long as the core is true) but that his stories are largely fiction. I don’t even really believe him when he writes about his recent memories like imagining living in, and remodeling, Anne Frank’s Amsterdam apartment when visiting the museum to the young diarist. Isn’t he really just thinking that so that he can write about it? Or is he really just a really awful person (and a very good, smart, and incisive writer)?

Leave a Reply

