The Peacemaker, etc.

How on earth did I go this long without having a poboy from Mahony’s? Really? This place has been in business for a few years, and somehow I hadn’t made it in there? It can’t be the uptown/downtown thing. I frequently cross Canal in search of food. I blame you, word of mouth.

So, Mahony’s (it’s that cute little house on Magazine and Delachaise that has housed quite a few different restaurants over the years) is deceptively hip. The space is cool, the staff is young and colleg-y (and a little brusk), the patron’s outside all have haircuts cooler than yours, so you might think that this isn’t an authentic poboy shop. But, no! Mahony’s harkens back to poboy shops of yore, reviving such oldies like “The Peacemaker,” a poboy concocted of fried oysters, cheddar cheese, and bacon (dressed of course) that was named such because when the menfolk stayed out a little too late, and were facing the possibility of a very unhappy missus, they would stop by and pick up one of these to take home to her, and domestic unrest would be abated. I’m sure I’m not the first to make this little joke, but this thing could easily be called , “The Pacemaker.”Also! Side note: So, my husband ordered The Peacemaker, and of course, I had to have a bite, and I bit into an oyster and felt something strange, and it was a damn pearl. That’s how good these place is! Anyway, they do have a couple of modern poboys, particularly stunning is the Grilled Shrimp with Fried Green Tomatoes and Remoulade. With a coupe of bottles of Barq’s, you’ve got a lunch sublime.

After eating like that, you really need some exercise. I’m not sure if bowling counts, but it’s better than nothing. If you haven’t been there yet, I’d like you to know that Rock ‘N Bowl is all comfy in its post-K digs. The space is great, with a nice stage, an easily accessible bar sort of out in the middle of the room and, of course, nice, new bowling lanes. And now, every Tuesday, from 8:30-11:30, is R&B night. I had forgotten what a wholesome, good time, bowling can be, even if you suck, as I kinda do.

3 Comments

Filed under kid-friendly, poboys

3 responses to “The Peacemaker, etc.

  1. I love Mahony’s, though somehow I’ve failed to get the Peacemaker yet. I’ll be correcting that soon.

  2. Let’s see the pearl!!!!

  3. danielle

    Maybe I was there on an off day, but I had an oyster poboy there a while ago and was really disappointed. mostly I hated the breading and there there was way too much of it. And the oysters were over cooked. Also, it was expensive. Not a good combination. Granted, I didn’t try the peacemaker…

Leave a Reply

