The Biannual Good Liver Cleanse

Sssh. There there. It’ll be okay. Just open your eyes. Look, it’s a new day. Ash Wednesday, in fact.

Have you decided what you’re giving up for Lent? See, I’m not Catholic. But, I reason, thusly: If I get to have the party that precedes Lent–Mardi Gras–then I should observe Lent, too. Everybody’s Catholic enough for the party, but not quite so much when it comes time for the sacrifice. Really, it’s about balance. So, since I’m giving up some of my favorite vices, I am going to have to live vicariously through my posts–which may become even more replete with rich food and cocktails!

In the meantime, how about a little cleanse? I like this concoction quite a bit. Well, I like what it does.

Ultimate Liver Cleanser
Ingredients

  • Distilled water – 300 ml
  • Large grapefruits – 2
  • Udo’s Choice (or cold pressed flax oil) – 2 tbsp
  • Lemons – 4
  • Fresh root ginger – 2 inches
  • Fresh garlic – 1 to 2 cloves
  • Acidophilus – 1 tsp
  • A dash of cayenne pepper (optional)

Directions
Extract the grape fruit juice and lemon juice and put in a blender. Grate the ginger and garlic and squeeze their juices into the blender. Add water, Udo’s and acidophilus powder and blend for 35 to 40 seconds. Pour the juice in a glass and serve with a dash of cayenne pepper.

Already feeling better. And now, a nap.

1 Comment

Filed under cocktails, mardi gras

One response to “The Biannual Good Liver Cleanse

  1. “Everybody’s Catholic enough for the party, but not quite so much when it comes time for the sacrifice.” I love this sentiment. I am Catholic, but nothing could get me to take Flax Seed Oil in liquid form. BTDT. Gag. Good on you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

